In response to my fellow Geeky Woman’s post about James Bond, I felt the need to enlighten all those who are unsatisfied with the new Bond.  There’s a newish, but probably unknown by many, film series known only as ‘The Librarian’.  Tonight, I watched The Librarian: Quest for the Spear, and had to be picked off the floor due to the kinetic force of me laughing myself off the settee.  This film really is the scenario of James Bond meeting Indiana Jones, and the pair of them having a baby via the surrogate mother of Parody.  This series, starring Noah Wyle, will cause you to die a horrific, yet hilarity-filled death.

There’s something about films that don’t take themselves too seriously that I love.  It may be the funny quips, the intentionally clichéd and obvious circumstances, or just the good old plot holes you could drive a Dodge Viper through, but they amuse me nonetheless.

 

With the Librarian, there are three films so far to enjoy, ‘The Librarian: Quest for the Spear’, The Librarian: Return to King Solomon’s Mines’, and ‘The Librarian: Curse of the Judas Chalice’.  The main character, Flynn Carsen, is basically a nerdy Indiana who spends far too much time at University and in his books.  Combined with random WTF moments, his usually psychopathic love interest, and evil villains who want ultimate power, his life as a Librarian is often adventurous and often hilarious.  I actually choked on my cider while watching this, it is that funny.  After all, how many films can you honestly say involve lines such as ‘I always knew that guy was evil, he gave me an A-’, ‘Judson told me to trust no one’ – ‘Well, my name is Nicole Noone’, and my all time favourite, ‘Get your own geek.’

 

Watch this, or I have free rein to hunt you down and murder you in your sleep.  And the fact that I am a qualified librarian may have been possibly biased on this choice.  I apologise.

 

I’ll still come after you with a sword though.

