People take a lot of things for granted. If you grow up eating yummy, fully baked, whole grain bread, you’re shocked by the spongey mess the British eat. And the British, who grow up knowing what carrot cake is, will look at you funny if you’re never heard of putting veggies in desert.

Which leads me to banana bread. I’m 29 and I have just discovered this. I was instantly, and utterly, hooked. Where have you been all my life, delicious banana bread?

The recipe I ended up with has a high ‘granny’ factor and is not so much bread, as it is a very heavy, moist, cakelike substance. Also: it’s incredibly delicious. My very opinionated housemates finished this off in half a day. I had to cut off a piece and hide it to be able let my actual grandmother taste it. It’s that good. But apparently, everyone but me already knew that.

Banana bread

(adapted from, um, a number of recipes on allrecipes.com)

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 220 g flour
  • 200 g sugar (2/3 brown, 1/3 white)
  • about a tablespoon applesauce
  • 100 g butter (softened)
  • teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • half a teaspoon of baking powder
  • half a teaspoon of salt
  • half a teaspoon of cinnamon (optional)
  • raisins, walnuts (also optional)

Preheat oven to about 175° (I baked mine in a 192° oven, but I’m using a weird oven).

Cut bananas into pieces in a (flat) bowl and use a fork to mash them.

Put flour, baking powder, soda, salt and cinnamon in a bowl and run through it with a fork to mix.

Cream butter and sugar, then add eggs and whisk til your mixture is fluffy.

Add about half of your flour mixture and whisk. Add milk and vanilla, whisk, add rest of flour mixture and whisk again till it’s all nice and smooth.

Finally, mix in applesauce and bananas.

Pour batter into cake tins and shove in the oven for about forty minutes to an hour. You’ll need to feel if it’s firmed up enough to see if it’s done. Banana bread should not be jiggly!

Tip:

I coated this cake in apricot jelly to stop it from drying out, but that was kinda unnecessary. It never had a chance to. Instructions on apricot jelly coating here.

Tip:

In the pictures you see a brown line in the middle of the cake. You know what that is? Molten cocoa marzipan. I had some leftover from my chesscakes, rolled it out and put it in there. It’s exactly as awesome as it sounds.

